[Book Review] The Queen’s Handmaid by Tracy L. Higley

The Queen’s Handmaid

by

Tracy L. Higley

My Rating: 4 out of 5 Stars

My Review:

I’ve only read one of Tracy Higley’s books before but both of the books I have read have intrigued me greatly. I’m not prone to pick up biblical fiction but Tracy Higley’s books – even though classified as biblical fiction – are so unique that they almost have their own genre.

 

The Queen’s Handmaid follows the life of Lydia – a servant who will serve two great queens. In this book, we are transported back to the year 39 B.C. where Lydia is serving in Cleopatra’s household. As an orphan, she has grown up in this household and has very little knowledge about her past.

When a dying friend asks her to protect some secret writings and transport them to the right people, Lydia finds herself on quite the adventure. Trouble is, Lydia doesn’t know who the “right people” are. Setting out to Jerusalem, she takes a position as the handmaid of Queen Mariamme, King Herod’s wife. Lydia finds herself in the middle of royal corruption and forbidden love.

 

The Queen’s Handmaid is full of historical detail and weaves a spellbinding tale of royalty, history, friendship and romance. Tracy Higley did a great job of bringing the lives of Cleopatra, Herod, Caesar and other great historical figures to life. Even though I’ve learned about these characters in history, it was still very interesting reading this fictional account of them and seeing how they all connect. Despite disliking a few of the characters, you will find yourself falling in love with several as well. Lydia herself was a heroine worth admiring. Overall I am very glad I picked this novel up. It was a great history lesson as well as an entertaining story.

 

I received a free copy of this book from the publisher, Thomas Nelson, through Book Look Bloggers in exchange for my honest opinion. I received no compensation for this review, nor was I required to write a positive review. All opinions stated are my own.

 

Thank you for taking the time to read my review. If you liked this review, or if it was in any way helpful to you, please help me by:

Clicking “like” on this post

Clicking “like” on Goodreads

Clicking “yes” on Amazon

As always, I love reading your comments! So please leave a comment and share your thoughts!

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Book Review

Leave a Reply

