[Book Review] Burning Sky by Lori Benton

Burning Sky

by

Lori Benton

My Rating: 5 out of 5 Stars

My Review:

A Wonderful Story That Brings the Frontier to Life!

 

Frontier novels are quickly becoming one of my favorite genres. I just really enjoy learning about the early years of our country and I honestly love stories with Indians in them. Especially Indian love interests! Lori Benton’s debut novel, Burning Sky, was just as wonderful as everyone said it was and I enjoyed it immensely. I am looking forward to reading more from this new author!

 

At the young age of 14, Willa Obenchain was abducted by Mohawk Indians. 12 years later she is returning home only to find her family gone – and no one is exactly sure what happened to them. Having experienced so much pain in her life, this is just another blow to Willa and causes her to build more walls around her heart. As she’s returning home, she finds an injured Scotsman, Neil MacGregor, on the edge of her property. Feeling obliged to help him, Willa nurses him back to health. Joseph Tames-His-Horse is an Indian from her clan, meaning he is considered her brother. Despite that title, his feelings for her are real and he will stop at nothing to help Willa and assist her with rebuilding her homestead.

 

As Willa tries to find her way between two worlds, she finds it hard to open up to people. She has closed herself off because she doesn’t want to lose anyone again. As three different men battle for Willa’s heart, she must first learn to trust God with her heart before she can trust anyone else.

 

Lori Benton has created a wonderful story through the eyes of Willa. Each of these characters jumped off the page and found their way into my heart. The Frontier life came alive as I entered Willa’s world. I thought it came to a wonderful conclusion as well. I admit, I couldn’t quite decide how I wanted it to end but I think it all came together nicely. I will definitely be reading future novels from Lori Benton!

 

I received a free copy of this book through Blogging for Books through Waterbrook Press in exchange for my honest review. I received no compensation for this review, nor was I required to write a positive review. All opinions stated are my own.

 

Thank you for taking the time to read my review! If you liked this review, or if it was in any way helpful to you, please help me by:

Clicking “like” on this post

Clicking “like” on Goodreads

Clicking “yes” on Amazon

As always, I love reading your comments! So please leave a comment and share your thoughts!

3 Comments

Filed under 5-Stars, Book Review

3 responses to “[Book Review] Burning Sky by Lori Benton

  1. Thank you, Leah, for a great review! I’m so happy you enjoyed Burning Sky. 🙂

  2. Pingback: Monthly Recap: January 2014 | Bookshelves and Windows

Leave a Reply

