[Book Review] Love’s Reckoning by Laura Frantz

Love’s Reckoning

by

Laura Frantz

My Rating: 5 out of 5 Stars

My Review:

A Beautiful Story That Will Haunt You Long After You Read the Last Page!

 

The first time I read this book I wanted to cry when it ended. I closed the book and I literally just sat there thinking about what this book just did to me. This book gave me a “book hangover” and I was unable to start reading another book until the weekend had passed because I was still stuck on living in the world of Eden and Silas. This book immediately became a favorite of mine and I thought about it all year until I read it again in preparation for Love’s Awakening, the second in the series.

 

It is the year 1874, and Eden Lee lives in York County, Pennsylvania, in a house laced in secrets. Eden longs to get away from her home where she doesn’t feel she belongs. Eden longs for an escape and continually looks for what that escape could be.

Silas Ballantyne has come to the Lee’s home in order to finish his apprenticeship and move on to Pittsburg where he hears there is plenty of land to be had. He is determined to finish his apprenticeship and not let anything get in the way. But what he doesn’t expect is Liege Lee to insist on Silas honoring the tradition of the apprentice marrying one of his daughters – the high-spirited Elspeth, or the quiet, soft-spoken Eden.

 

There was nothing I didn’t like about this book. It was beautifully written, the descriptions making the scenery come alive and transporting me into the story. The characters were very well developed and I felt myself aching, smiling, crying, and loving along with them.

Silas is such a great hero. A Scotsman, I could just hear his accent and his faith was so attractive in him.

Eden was a very dear heroine. It was so hard to see the pain and trials that she went through and I found myself aching with her. I loved that she was so eager to learn the truth about God and the way she sought out Silas to help her learn.

Elspeth was a very dislikeable character. It blew my mind that a sister could be so cruel. She is constantly trying to make life miserable for Eden and when she sets her sights on Silas, she believes nothing can stop her.

 

This book has found a permanent place on my “favorites” shelf. I am looking forward to reading this book over and over again. I am also looking forward to reading the rest of the books in The Ballantyne Legacy series. Laura Frantz has captured my heart with this book and I can’t express how much I loved it.

 

I bought this book and was under no obligation to write a review. All opinions stated are my own.

 

Thank you for taking the time to read my review! If you liked this review, or if it was helpful to you in any way, please help me by:

Clicking “like” on this post

Clicking “like” on Goodreads

Clicking “yes” on Amazon

As always, I love reading your comments! Please leave a comment and tell me your thoughts 🙂

2 Comments

Filed under 5-Stars, Book Review

2 responses to “[Book Review] Love’s Reckoning by Laura Frantz

  1. What a lovely review, Leah. I can “hear” your passion for the book in every word, and there is no higher recommendation. Blessings and Happy Holidays!

Leave a Reply

