[Book Review] Carolina Gold by Dorothy Love

Carolina Gold

by

Dorothy Love

My Rating: 4 out of 5 Stars

My Review:

Having read Dorothy Love’s Hickory Ridge series, I was eager to dive in to another of her books. I am a big fan of the civil war time period, so I was pretty sure I would enjoy this book. I am happy to say that I was right about that.

 

Carolina Gold tells the story of Charlotte Fraser. The Civil War has ended and having lost her father, Charlotte is determined to return to her father’s rice plantation and bring it back to life. Despite Charlotte’s wish to bring Fairhaven back to working order, she finds it in ruins and has a hard time finding ways to make ends meet.

In order to generate more income, Charlotte takes a teaching position for her neighbor, Nicholas Betancourt’s two young daughters. When Nicholas leaves town, Charlotte finds herself as caretaker for the girls. She has no idea where Nicholas has gone and when he does not answer her correspondence, she sets off to New Orleans to find him. What she discovers along the way will bring up secrets from the past and threaten her future at Fairhaven.

 

I admired Charlotte’s strength and determination to bring a dying plantation back to life. It must not have been very discouraging after the Civil War and I’m sure I would have run out of motivation shortly after the first obstacle. But Charlotte was determined to override all obstacles and make the plantation thrive. I enjoyed reading about these characters and having them come to life in my mind. I think the author did a great job at capturing the attitudes of some of the southerners after the war. Obviously they were very bitter and you can see some of that in this novel. One complaint I have is that there are a few articles/letters written in cursive font. While I can read cursive, I know a lot of people struggle with it and I do hope that this won’t hinder readers. But other then that, this was a beautiful story and one I am glad I was able to read and enjoy.

 

I received a free copy of this book from the publisher, Thomas Nelson, through BookSneeze, in exchange for my honest review. I received no compensation for this review, nor was I required to write a positive review. All opinions stated are my own.

 

Thank you for taking the time to read my review. If you liked this review, or if it was helpful to you in any way, please help me by:

Clicking “like” on this post

Clicking “like” on Goodreads

Clicking “yes” on Amazon

As always, I love reading your comments. Please feel free to leave a comment and share your thoughts!

Leave a comment

Filed under Book Review

Leave a Reply

