[Book Review] Dear Mr. Knightley by Katherine Reay

Dear Mr. Knightley

by

Katherine Reay

My Rating: 4 out of 5 Stars

My Review:

I’m not the biggest Jane Austen fan. I enjoy her books but I wouldn’t consider myself a fanatic. However, when I heard about Dear Mr. Knightley, and started reading raving reviews for the book, I knew I had to try it out myself. I was very glad I did because what I found was a very refreshing story that drew me in and kept me captivated.

Dear Mr. Knightley tells the story of Samantha Moore. Samantha Moore has finished college and she now has received the opportunity to get a full-ride scholarship to earn her graduate degree at a journalism school. The only catch is, she has to write letters to her benefactor, Mr. Knightley.

And so Samantha starts journalism school and starts her written relationship with Mr. Knightley. Samantha opens up to Mr. Knightley about everything. Her past, her friendships, her relationships, her struggles. Her letters are like a glorified diary and she appreciates the fact that Mr. Knightley doesn’t change the relationship by writing back.

As Samantha opens up to Mr. Knightley, she also finds herself opening up to people around her. Instead of hiding behind her books, she forms friendships and relationships that greatly change her.

I honestly loved the letter aspect of this book. I really enjoyed diary/journal/letter kind of books when I was younger, so to read an adult book like this was awesome. I liked that it still read like a book. Even though we are technically reading Samantha’s letters, it was more like chapters in a book and it was very enjoyable.

I loved the character growth in Samantha. She goes from being a girl who hides behind her books, to someone who can stand on her own two feet. I greatly admired Samantha for her strength and determination.

I also have to admit that I adored the ending. I wasn’t sure how it would all wrap up. I wasn’t quite sure how I wanted it to end. But I will say, the ending was very satisfactory.

I received a free copy of this book from the publisher through BookSneeze in exchange for my honest review. I was not required to write a positive review, only to share my honest opinion. All opinions stated are my own.

If you would like to read a copy of this book for yourself, check out the giveaway that Goodreads is currently hosting!

https://www.goodreads.com/giveaway/show/65743-dear-mr-knightley

Speaking of giveaways, I am currently offering a giveaway of a copy of MaryLu Tyndall’s latest release, Elusive Hope. Check that out here:

Thank you for taking the time to read my review. If you liked my review, or if it was helpful to you in any way, please help me by:

Clicking “like” on this post

Clicking “like” on Goodreads

Clicking “yes” on Amazon

As always, I love reading your comments. So please feel free to leave a comment with your thoughts about this post!

Have you read Dear Mr. Knightley? What are your thoughts? Are you a big Jane Austen fan?

5 Comments

Filed under Book Review

5 responses to “[Book Review] Dear Mr. Knightley by Katherine Reay

  1. Does it bother anyone else when writers expound upon the works of others? I don’t know about this book, but I get annoyed when I see it. Think of something original! If Jane Austen wanted an Emma 2, she would have written it. Sorry for my rant, I just saw that they were making a sequel to Its A Wonderful Life and my day was ruined.

  2. Jane Austen fan? Check. Have I read DMK? Check. Did I love it? Check. This was a beautiful story and it’s left me eager for Katherine’s second novel. 🙂

Leave a Reply

