[Book Review] A Change of Fortune by Jen Turano

A Change of Fortune

by

Jen Turano

My Rating: 3 out of 5 Stars

My Review:

Humorous and Loveable

 

Ever since reading Gentleman of Her Dreams, I was really excited to start in on Jen Turano’s Ladies of Distinction series. I finally got the chance to borrow A Change of Fortune from my library. Unfortunately, this book didn’t live up to my expectations. However, I still enjoyed the story.

 

A Change of Fortune follows the story of Lady Eliza Sumner. Having lost her fortune, she has come to America and is posing as a governess in attempt to find the man who ran away with her fortune. Unfortunately for Eliza, she quickly falls into trouble at the home she is a governess at and she loses her job. However, Eliza soon finds different people who are willing to help her retrieve her fortune.

Hamilton is the father of two small children. Many women have their eye on him but he prefers to ignore their attempts for his attention. However, Eliza changes that and Hamilton finds himself drawn to this mysterious woman.

 

I loved the story and I loved the characters. I’m excited to see what the next books are like and to dive deeper into some of these character’s lives. However, I felt like there was an overwhelming amount of dialogue. I enjoy dialogue, but not when it overpowers the story and cancels out the descriptions and details. Another thing that kind of bugged me was Piper. I’m sure most people found her to be a darling little girl, but honestly I felt like she acted much too old and knowledgeable for a 5 year old.

 

Don’t take these negative aspects as a turn-off though! I still enjoyed the book and am looking forward to reading the next books in the series.

 

I borrowed this book from my library and was under no obligation to write a review. All opinions stated are my own.

 

Thank you for taking the time to read my review! If you liked this review, or if it was helpful to you in any way, please help me by:

Clicking “like” on this post

Clicking “like” on Goodreads

Clicking “yes” on Amazon

As always, I love reading your comments. Please feel free to leave a comment and share your thoughts with me 🙂

4 Comments

Filed under Book Review

4 responses to “[Book Review] A Change of Fortune by Jen Turano

  1. Know exactly what you mean. Have you read A Peculiar Circumstance? After reading that one, I am somewhat reluctant to read the other ones in the series. Thanks for your review 🙂

    • I’ve actually read all three of them so far. They’re enjoyable… I just don’t happen to be overly excited about them. I’m still planning on reading the rest of them. I actually feel like they’re all really similar though and even though they’re part of a series, they still need to have their own uniqueness.

  2. Oh no, it’s unbalanced. 😦 And I recently purchased “A Change of Fortune”.

Leave a Reply

