[Book Review] Harvest of Rubies by Tessa Afshar

Harvest of Rubies

by

Tessa Afshar

My Rating: 4 out of 5 Stars

My Review:

I’ve recently been going through the book of Nehemiah in my Bible reading so it was interesting to read this book and have some of the story come to life.

Sarah is the cousin of Nehemiah, the cupbearer to the king. When Sarah is 12 years old, her father finds her reading and then encourages her to continue to learn how to read and write in several different languages. When Sarah is older, she becomes the senior scribe to the Queen. After working as the senior scribe for three years, Sarah believes that is what her life will be forever. That is, until the Queen decides to marry her off to Darius, the son of the King. Unfortunately, their marriage does not get off to a good start. Over the years, Darius and Sarah must learn to love each other as different circumstances draw them together and make their love blossom.

 

This is the kind of biblical fiction that I enjoy. I enjoy biblical fiction when the author adds a lot of their own imagination to it. I really liked the characters that Ms. Afshar created. I loved the way they came to life and I felt drawn into their world. I laughed with them, I cried with them (No, I actually really did have tears in my eyes at some points), I loved with them, and I learned with them. I enjoyed this book very much and I am looking forward to reading the sequel, Harvest of Gold, as well as Tessa’s other book, Pearl in the Sand. I may not read a lot of biblical fiction, but I plan on reading Tessa Afshar’s books for sure!

 

I received a free copy of this book from Moody Publishers in exchange for my honest review. I received no compensation for this review, nor was I required to write a positive review. All opinions stated are my own.

 

Thank you for taking the time to read my review. If you liked this review, or if it was helpful to you in anyway, please help me by:

Clicking “like” on this post

Clicking “like” on Goodreads

Clicking “yes” on Amazon

As always, I love reading your comments! So please feel free to leave a comment if you so desire and I’ll be sure to read it 🙂

2 Comments

Filed under Book Review

2 responses to “[Book Review] Harvest of Rubies by Tessa Afshar

  1. I loved this book! I’ve read most of Tessa Afshar’s books, and I love her writing. I can’t wait to read the sequel,Harvest of Gold! 🙂

    • Awesome. She is pretty great. I look forward to reading more from her 🙂 I’m excited about her Ruth book! I love the story of Ruth and I think she’ll have a great spin on it 🙂

Leave a Reply

