[Book Review] The Forgiven Duke by Jamie Carie

The Forgiven Duke

by

Jamie Carie

My Rating: 4 out of 5 Stars

My Review:

An intriguing sequel in an enchanting series!

Having loved the first book in this series, I dove right into the second hoping to enjoy it just as much. While I did not enjoy it as much as the first book, I still enjoyed it immensely and found it to be a great sequel to The Guardian Duke.

At the end of The Guardian Duke, we are left with Gabriel just missing the ship that Alex has left on to go to Iceland. The Forgiven Duke starts right where the last book left off. Alex is now engaged to a man named John, who is taking her to Iceland in search of her parents. While Gabriel wishes to follow right away, he is stalled by being called back to England.

I was disappointed that Gabriel and Alex didn’t really meet each other face to face in the first book so I was looking forward to that in this book. While it did not happen right away, it eventually does happen and the sparks certainly do fly between the two of them.

I loved reading about the setting in Iceland. Jamie did a great job of describing the scenery and I saw the setting come to life in my mind.

One of my complaints is that Alex’s fiancé, John, became extremely annoying in this book. My other complaint is, why did I take so long to read this series?

I received a free ebook copy of this book from the publisher through NetGalley in exchange for my honest review. I did not receive any compensation for this review, nor was I required to write a positive review. All opinions stated are my own.

Thank you for taking the time to read my review! If you liked this review, or if it was helpful to you in any way, please help me by:

Clicking “like” on this post

Clicking “like” on Goodreads

Clicking “yes” on Amazon

As always, I love reading your comments! So please feel free to drop me a comment if you so desire 🙂

Leave a comment

Filed under Book Review

Leave a Reply

