“What I’m Reading” Wednesday

It’s been a whirlwind of a week! I had a job interview last Wednesday and was hired that night to start working Thursday! With that being said, I am not a full-time Receptionist for a cleaning company. Since I am now working full-time, I unfortunately do not have as much time to read 😦 I am still trying to fall into the routine of working full-time and finding time to read!

Since I will not have a lot of time for reading, I am going to be more picky about the books I choose to read. I guess that means I’ll be reading more reviews and seeing what my favorite bloggers have to say about those books! For now, I am trying to catch up on my review books and then I will probably stop requesting so many review books and just read books that I pick out because they’re my favorite author.

So there you have it, that’s what’s going on in my neck of the woods. I still have a lot of reviews for books I’ve read over the past couple of months so don’t worry about me running out of reviews to post 🙂

 

Here is what I am reading this Wednesday:

 

A Most Peculiar Circumstance

by

Jen Turano

I was reading this last week so I guess I don’t really have to give a big spiel about it. I am almost done with it, just a few chapters left. I have enjoyed it but I haven’t been able to really focus on it because I’ve only read one or two chapters here and there.

Here is another book I hope to start within the next couple of days:

Harvest of Rubies

by

Tessa Afshar

Here is the description via Goodreads:

The prophet Nehemiah’s cousin can speak numerous languages, keep complex accounts, write on rolls of parchment and tablets of clay, and solve great mysteries. There is only one problem: she is a woman.

In her early childhood years, Sarah experienced the death of her mother and her father’s subsequent emotional distance and she came to two conclusions: that God does not care about her, and that her accomplishments are the measure of her worth – the measure of her self.

Sarah, the talented scribe and cousin to Nehemiah, is catapulted into the center of the Persian court, working too many hours, rubbing elbows with royalty, and solving intrigues for the Queen. Ironically, it isn’t failure but success that causes Sarah to lose her only source of external validation.

Sarah soon learns that she has something of worth to offer beyond her ability with languages and sums – her very being proves to be a blessing to others particularly the aristocrat, Darius, she was given to in marriage.

Sarah and Darius’ story continues in Harvest of Gold. Darius may be able to learn to love his wife, but can he ever learn to trust Sarah and her Lord?

I have heard a lot of good things about Tessa Afshar. I’m not always a huge fan of biblical fiction (I say that often) but I am looking forward to reading this one. My Mom was reading it a while back and was raving about it.

That’s what I’m reading this Wednesday. Reviews will be posted eventually of course 🙂

What are you reading this weekend?

4 Comments

Filed under What I'm Reading

4 responses to ““What I’m Reading” Wednesday

  1. Congratulations on your new job! The entire series by Jen Turano is very good and quite humorous! I am reading “Burning Sky” by Lori Benton-actually a really good book for a first time author; my review should be ready next week. Keep reading (in your spare time and/ or lunch hour!).

    • Thank you!
      I have liked the first two books by Jen Turano. I enjoy the humor – I’m just sad I wasn’t able to give the books the attention they deserved.
      I have heard Burning Sky is really good! I’ll have to look into getting my own copy 🙂
      I have definitely been reading on my lunch hour every day! Something to look forward to in the early morning hours 🙂

  2. Likewise, congratulations on your new job! Glad to know that you have found one that quickly, because here in Australia I have been looking for one for about 3, going onto 4 years. Thankfully the Lord has granted me a job! Shame though, that it cuts into your reading time 😦 I know exactly what it feels like though, and am looking forward to my three months of nothing before Uni starts. You can probably guess what i’ll be doing ….
    Anyway, I have read and LOVE A Most Peculiar Circumstance. My review will be coming out soon. Shame though, that you couldn’t read it all fluently. The humour was great!! Couldn’t stop laughing 😀

    • Thank you! I was honestly very surprised to get a full-time job so fast. I was expecting to have at least a whole month off and yet less than two weeks after being done at my old job, I already started a new one! I’m glad the Lord granted you a job though!
      Yeah, it is a bummer that I don’t have as much reading time but I am cherishing the times that I do have.
      I did enjoy A Most Peculiar Circumstance. Unfortunately I can’t say it was one of my favorites – I just wasn’t able to give the book the attention it deserved. I may go back and read it someday when I have the time (though who knows when that will ever be :P)

Leave a Reply

