[Book Review] Rosa’s Land by Gilbert Morris

Rosa’s Land

by

Gilbert Morris

My Rating: 2 out of 5 Stars

My Review:

A disappointing introduction to Gilbert Morris.

I have heard good things about Gilbert Morris’s books and when I got the chance to read and review Rosa’s Land, I was excited to see what his writing was like. Unfortunately, this was not a good introduction to his writing.

 

Rosa’s Land tells the story of Lafayette, better known as Faye. Faye has grown up hardly knowing a hard day of work. He is better at scholarly things and art. When he is snubbed by a woman, he believes he must become a man and so he heads west to become a Marshall.

Rosa and her family have just moved to her grandfather’s ranch and are now having trouble with outlaws. When they request a Marshall, Faye is the Marshall that shows up to help protect their ranch.

 

The storyline was ok. Westerns are not my favorite genre so perhaps that was part of the reason I didn’t like this book. But despite a book’s genre, I still have things that I like or don’t like about every story. This book had a lot that I didn’t like. Rosa was annoying. I didn’t feel like the characters were developed well. A lot of the time, characters can become my friends, but these characters were not like that at all and I was only glad to say goodbye to them. I found myself rushing through this book so I could be done with it.

While I may try a few other books from Gilbert Morris, I will not be reading any more of this series.

 

I received a free ecopy of this book from the publisher through NetGalley. I received no compensation for this review, but was only required to share my honest opinion. All thoughts and opinions stated are my own.

 

Thank you for taking the time to read my review. I do not always like posting reviews of books I do not like but when I am required to write a review and post it, I have to do what I have to do.

 

2 Comments

Filed under Book Review

2 responses to “[Book Review] Rosa’s Land by Gilbert Morris

  1. That’s too bad. The books I had read by him in years gone by were usually very well written and with good characters.

Leave a Reply

