“What I’m Reading” Wednesday

Well I haven’t done a “What I’m Reading” Wednesday in a few weeks because it’s been kind of crazy. But here we are again. “What I’m Reading” Wednesday is where I share with you all what I’m reading this week and a few of my thoughts about the book so far.

The first book I am currently reading is:

Love’s Awakening

by

Laura Frantz

Description via Goodreads:

In the spring of 1822, Ellie Ballantyne leaves finishing school and returns to the family home in Pittsburg only to find that her parents are away on a long journey and her siblings don’t seem to want her to stay. Determined to stand her ground and find her place in the world, Ellie fills her time by opening a day school for young ladies.

But when one of her students turns out to be an incorrigible young member of the Turlock family, Ellie knows she must walk a fine line. Slaveholders and whiskey magnates, the Turlocks are envious of the powerful Ballantynes and suspicious of their abolitionist leanings. As Ellie becomes increasingly entangled with the rival clan–particularly the handsome Jack Turlock–she finds herself falling in love with an impossible future. Will she betray her family and side with the enemy?

Masterful storyteller Laura Frantz continues to unfold the stirring saga of the Ballantyne family in this majestic tale of love and loyalty. This is the Ballantyne Legacy.

This is the second book in The Ballantyne Legacy series. I absolutely adored the first book in this series and I am loving the second book as well. I don’t think I like it quite as much as Love’s Reckoning but it has been a lovely addition to the series and I love reading about Ellie.

I am hoping to finish this book by tomorrow!

 

The second book I am reading is:

A Most Peculiar Circumstance

by

Jen Turano

Description via Goodreads:

Miss Arabella Beckett has one driving passion: to help the downtrodden women of America. Naturally, she supports the women’s suffrage movement and eagerly attends rallies and lectures across the country. On her travels, she makes a simple offer of assistance to a young woman in need that goes sadly awry and lands both ladies in more trouble than they can manage. An independent sort, Arabella is loath to admit she needs help and certainly doesn’t need help from an arrogant, narrow-minded knight in shining armor.

Mr. Theodore Wilder, private investigator extraordinaire, is on a mission. A mission that began as a favor to his good friend Hamilton Beckett, but swiftly evolved into a merry chase across the country. By the time he finally tracks down Hamilton’s sister, Arabella, he is in a less than pleasant mood. When the lady turns out to have radical ideas and a fiercely independent streak, he soon finds himself at his wit’s end.

When they return home to New York, circumstances force their paths to continue to cross, but the most peculiar feelings growing between them certainly can’t be love. When the trouble Arabella had accidentally stirred up seems to have followed her to New York and threatens her very life, the unlikely couple must face the possibility that they might have landed in the most peculiar circumstance of all: love.

This is the second book in the Ladies of Distinction series. I was somewhat disappointed in the first book (review coming soon) but I have found myself enjoying this one more than the first book. I am about a quarter of the way through with this book so it will probably take me at least to the end of the week to finish it. I’m reading this one on my Kindle and I tend to take longer with books when I am reading on the Kindle.

Well, that’s what I’m reading this Wednesday. What are you reading this Wednesday?

Leave a comment

Filed under What I'm Reading

Leave a Reply

