[Book Review] A Home for My Heart by Anne Mateer

A Home for My Heart

by

Anne Mateer

My Rating: 4.5 out of 5 Stars

My Review:

Having read Anne Mateer’s first two books, Wings of a Dream and At Every Turn, I was really looking forward to reading A Home for My Heart. I love the stories that Anne Mateer creates and I love the way her stories touch your heart and leave you yearning for more.

 

A Home for My Heart is the story of Sadie Sillsby. Sadie grew up in an orphanage, and now that she is older, she is working in the orphanage to give back to what the orphanage provided for her. Sadie absolutely loves the children and is willing to do anything for them. At least, that’s what she thinks. When the matron of the home announces her plans to get married, she offers Sadie the job and Sadie is thrilled to accept. There’s only one problem; Sadie and Blaine are hoping to get married someday but the orphanage matron is not allowed to be married. When Sadie chooses to become the matron, she soon faces trouble with finances and trying to rid herself of her feelings for Blaine. But nothing seems to work and Sadie must rely on God to provide for her future.

 

Oh my heart broke for dear Sadie and Blaine. They have known each other for so long, and pretty much loved each other just as long. But when things are thrown into their relationship, their friendship is definitely tested. I admired Sadie for her willingness to sacrifice her own happiness in order to provide the children what they needed. These characters were so dear to me and I loved getting to know them throughout the book. The story that Anne Mateer has created is a heart-touching novel and I was sad to see it end. I am looking forward to reading more from this author.

 

I received a free copy of this book from the author and Bethany House Publishers in exchange for my honest review. I received no compensation for this review and was not required to write a positive review. All opinions stated are my own.

 

Thank you for taking the time to read my review! If you liked this review or if it was helpful to you in any way, please help me by:

Clicking “like” on this post

Clicking “like” on Goodreads

Clicking “yes” on Amazon

Have you read any books by Anne Mateer? If so, which ones have you read? What do you like about her books?

2 Comments

Filed under Book Review

2 responses to “[Book Review] A Home for My Heart by Anne Mateer

  1. Great review. I will have to put this on my TBR list. And if I live to be 200, maybe I’ll get to it!!!
    Debbie

Leave a Reply

