[Book Review] Calico Brides by Darlene Franklin

Calico Brides

by

Darlene Franklin

My Rating: 3 out of 5 Stars

My Review:

These four novellas are about four different girls who are part of a sewing circle. These girls want to do some good deeds to help the needy people around town.

 

Gladys is helping an elderly man, Norman Keller. When his grandson, Haydn comes to town, Gladys can’t help but notice his good looks and attractive personality.

 

Annie helps the soldiers by knitting for them. While doing so, she catches the eye of a lieutenant.

 

Birdie is a former prostitute and now she is looking to help girls like her escape that life. Ned is a store owner and he finds himself wanting to help her.

 

Ruth is a schoolteacher, drawn to a couple of children who are now under the guardianship of their uncle. When Ruth decides to help the kids, their Uncle Beau isn’t sure how he feels about it.

 

Each of these stories were quick and easy to read. I enjoyed them and they made me smile. But as with all novellas, I wish there was more to read. However, I liked that each novella was connected to the next so that the story was one continuation, just with different characters as the main people.

 

I received a free ebook copy of this book from the publishers through NetGalley in exchange for my honest review. I did not receive any compensation for this review nor was I required to write a positive review. All opinions stated are my own.

Thank you for taking the time to read my review. If you liked this review or if it was in any way helpful to you, please help me by:

Clicking “like” on this post

Clicking “like” on Goodreads

Clicking “yes” on Amazon

Also, be sure to check out the “Let’s Connect” page and connect with me somewhere on the internet!

Leave a comment

Filed under Book Review

Leave a Reply

