[Book Review] A Bride for All Seasons

A Bride for All Seasons

by

Margaret Brownley, Debra Clopton,

Mary Connealy, and Robin Lee Hatcher

My Rating: 4 out of 5 Stars

My Review:

I usually don’t pick up collections of novellas because I don’t like the lack of development throughout the story. But having enjoyed books by a couple of these authors, I knew I couldn’t pass up the chance to read their novellas as well. I was glad I picked this book up because I found four sweet stories about mail-order brides.

 

Each of these novellas take place in different seasons (hence the “A Bride for All Seasons”). Each of these couples has been placed together through The Hitching Post, a catalog designed for setting up mail-order couples. But what each couple doesn’t realize is that someone at The Hitching Post is editing their letters and each of these couples are in for quite a surprise when they finally meet each other.

 

Mary Jo arrives in town only to find out her fiancé is dead! And he has a son she knew nothing about.

 

Ellie is looking to escape her unlucky past and find love. Matthew just wants a practical wife to care for his daughter.

 

Clay wants a woman who has no children but then Luvena shows up with her two nieces and nephew that she has custody of.

 

And then there’s David who believes he has less than a year to live. When Megan arrives on the scene, she is determined to give David a reason to live.

 

Each of these stories are sweet and touching and are bound to bring a smile to your face. I enjoy stories about mail-order brides, so to have four novellas right at my hand was very enjoyable. I only wish that each story was longer and I could see more development in the couples’ relationships. But the authors did a great job of bringing each story to life in the small amount of space that they had.

 

I received a free ebook copy of this book from the publisher through BookSneeze in exchange for my honest review. I received no compensation for this review nor was I required to write a positive review. All opinions stated are my own.

 

Thank you for taking the time to read my review! If you liked this review or if it was helpful to you in any way, please help me by:

Clicking “like” on this post.

Clicking “like” on Goodreads

Clicking “yes” on Amazon

4 Comments

Filed under Book Review

4 responses to “[Book Review] A Bride for All Seasons

  1. Cool, thanks for reviewing this! I had this on my maybe read list 🙂

  2. Nice one Leah! You are like me in some ways. I don’t go much for novellas for the same reason, and love mail-order-bride stories!

    Enjoyed your review. 🙂

Leave a Reply

