[Book Review] Moonlight Masquerade by Ruth Axtell

Moonlight Masquerade

by

Ruth Axtell

My Rating: 4 out of 5 Stars

My Review:

Moonlight Masquerade is the first Ruth Axtell book I read. The cover itself is what drew me in but after reading the description, I figured it would be something I would enjoy and I was correct about that.

 

This book had suspense right from the start. We are immediately brought into the world of Celine, the wife of a deceased earl. Her butler, Rees, is an undercover spy trying to discover if Celine is giving information to the French. Despite her suspicions of Rees, Celine takes him under her wing and grows fond of him. As Rees seeks to expose Celine, he finds his heart softening towards her. As their feelings grow, they are both reluctant to expose the other. But will keeping the secret of each other’s loyalties end up hurting them in the end?

 

I always enjoy a good regency novel and I did enjoy this one. While it was not a favorite book of mine, I am glad I took the time to read it. The characters came alive and I found my heart beating fast with the suspense and wondering how everything would be resolved. I kind of thought the end was dragged out more than necessary but other then that, this was a great book and I look forward to reading more of Ruth Axtell’s books, including A Heart’s Rebellion, another regency novel!

 

I received a free ecopy from Revell Books through NetGalley in exchange for my honest review. I did not receive any compensation for this review nor was I required to write a positive review. All opinions stated are my own.

 

If this sounds like a book you would enjoy, get yourself a copy from:

Amazon

If you liked this review or found it helpful, help me out by:

Clicking “yes” on Amazon

Clicking “like” on Goodreads

 

 

Wow, I have been overwhelmed with books to read and book reviews to write! I’m really hoping that I will be able to post more on this blog than just reviews but for now I’m trying to catch up on all of these reviews! I’m sure when school starts I’ll be able to settle myself into some kind of a routine… or at least that’s what I’m hoping! But for now, I hope you are enjoying my reviews. Thank you for taking the time to read them!

 

6 Comments

Filed under Book Review

6 responses to “[Book Review] Moonlight Masquerade by Ruth Axtell

  1. Hi Leah! Thanks for connecting with me on Goodreads! It is always good to find another Christian fiction fan. Looks like we like a lot of the same books.

  2. I couldn’t get “in to” this book for some reason. I will have to give it another go someday. Thanks for the post.

  3. I have had my eye on this book for quite a while. Might read it at the end of the year once the stress of year 12 is over.

Leave a Reply

