[Book Review] Widow of Gettysburg by Jocelyn Green

Widow of Gettysburg

by

Jocelyn Green

My Rating: 4 out of 5 Stars

My Review:

Widow of Gettysburg is the second book in the Heroines Behind the Line series by Jocelyn Green. This book tells the story of Liberty Holloway, a widow who lives in Gettysburg during the Civil War times. Haunted by her husband’s death, Liberty tries to move on from her past. When Liberty becomes in need of more money, she decides to open her home as an inn. But instead, her home is raided by enemy soldiers who overtake her home and use it as a hospital for wounded soldiers. While Liberty is not happy with the intrusion, she decides to help care for the wounded.

 

There is so much more to this story then what I have described above. Once again, Jocelyn Green designs a story that follows the lives of several characters who are all connected in some way. This story is so much more than a widow helping care for wounded enemies. It digs deep into people’s pasts and opens up secrets that were buried long ago. There were several things in the book that come as a surprise, as well as things that come out of nowhere it seems. Despite some slight confusion due to the character shifts, I still thoroughly enjoyed this book. Once again, I look forward to reading the rest of the books in this series.

 

I received a free ecopy of this book from the publisher through NetGalley in exchange for my honest review. I did not receive any compensation for my review and I was not required to write a positive review. All opinions stated are my own.

 

If you missed my review of Wedded to War, #1 in the Heroines Behind the Line series, check it out right here.

If this sounds like a book you would be interested in reading, buy it at:

Amazon

If you liked this review, please help me out by liking the review on:

Amazon

Goodreads

If you would like to connect with the author, connect with her on:

Website

Blog

Facebook

Twitter

Goodreads

Pinterest

If you would like to connect with me, connect with me at:

Facebook

Twitter

Goodreads

Pinterest

5 Comments

Filed under Book Review

5 responses to “[Book Review] Widow of Gettysburg by Jocelyn Green

  1. I have this book on my kindle, but did not realize it was a sequel. Loved the review and I’ve been wanting to read this book, but now I know to get Book 1 first. Thanks!
    Debbie

    • It is not absolutely necessary that you read the first one but there is small connections and if you’re anything like me, I insist on reading things in order 🙂
      Hope you enjoy them!
      – Leah

      • Yep, if there’s any kind of connection at all I have to read them in order…weird! When someone comes into our Media Center and picks up a book that’s in a series and I ask if they have read the others, some will say, no but that’s ok. No, it’s not!!! Gotta get all the background info, even if it’s just a little bit. I even have a couple of people who always read the last page or two from the book first just to see how it’s going to end. Can you imagine? It takes all kinds of people to make the world go around, doesn’t it? I guess I’m in the “weird category”. 🙂

      • Well if you’re in the weird category then I’m right there with you! I hate reading things out of order… I need every little bit of information as well! Ha, one of my friends always reads the last few pages or even the whole last chapter. I could not imagine doing that! I like to read it all like it was meant to be read 🙂

      • I know. If I am familiar with the author and know I like their books, I don’t even read the description of the book (on the back cover or on-line), I like to be totally surprised. And if someone comes in the Media Center and starts telling me about a book or movie they really like, I cover my ears and say “no, no, don’t tell me, if you do I won’t be able to read or watch it!” Like I said, weird!

Leave a Reply

