“What I’m Reading” Wednesday

Hello readers,

Here we are again, it’s “What I’m Reading” Wednesday! This is the part of the week when I like to share with you guys what I’m reading and find out what you are reading as well.

So here are the books that are currently on my “reading” shelf:

I’m about to start reading:

Cottage by the Sea

by

Robin Jones Gunn

Robin Jones Gunn was one of my favorite authors as a teen. Having read the Christy Miller, Sierra Jensen, and Katie Weldon series, I thought I’d read some of her other books as well. This has been on my to-read list for a long time and I was finally able to get a copy to read through my library.

Here’s the description via Goodreads:

A daughter’s gift of time, a father’s silent wish. Erin Bryce and her best friend, Sharlene, count the day they start their wedding planning business as a very happy day. So much so that they name their company The Happiest Day to reflect the fulfillment of their long-held dream as well as their clients’ longing for a wedding celebration to match the exhilaration of being in love. As a bonus, the two women utilize their business to help Erin’s son Jordan and his fiancée, Sierra, plan a grand wedding.

But the two friends aren’t prepared for the cloud moving in to cover the sunny, successful start of their business. Erin’s father, who lives in a small coastal Oregon community with his brusque, downright odd second wife, Delores, develops a medical problem that puts him in the hospital. Erin responds by rushing from Southern California to her father’s—and oh, yeah, Delores’s—cottage by the sea.

What greets Erin when she arrives sends her tumbling down a bewildering path to a different kind of happiest day. Her journey tosses her through highs and lows of hurt and healing, betrayal and renewal, wrong assumptions righted, and the brightest future one could ever hope for. All just around the corner, at the cottage by the sea.

Have you read any of Robin Jones Gunn’s books? If so, what have been some of your favorites?

The book I am currently reading on my kindle is:

Fired Up (Trouble in Texas Book 2)

by

Mary Connealy

I read the first book (Swept Away) in this trilogy a few months ago and I was excited to get an early ecopy of this book through NetGalley. I have been enjoying it so far and look forward to seeing what happens next in the book!

Here’s the description via Goodreads:

Dare Riker is a doctor who saves lives, but someone seems determined to end his. It may have something to do with the traitors he dealt with during the Civil War, or it might be related to the recent incident with Flint Greer and the ranch. Whoever the culprit is, he or she seems really fired up, and Dare can’t let his guard down for a moment, which is a challenge, since right now he’s trying to win the heart of the recently widowed Glynna.

Glynna Greer came west as a mail-order bride and ended up in a bad situation. Now her husband, Flint, is dead, and she’s determined to care for her son and daughter on her own. She wants to believe Dare Riker is as decent as he seems, but she’s terrified to lock herself into another marriage. She plans to support her small family by opening a diner—never mind that cooking is not her greatest talent. The men in Broken Wheel, Texas, are so desperate for home cooking that they seem willing to overlook dried-out beef and blackened biscuits.

Glynna can’t help but notice that danger follows Dare wherever he goes. There’s the avalanche. And then the fire. But things really get out of hand when someone plunges a knife from Glynna’s diner into Dare’s back. Are Flint’s cronies still plotting revenge? Is Glynna’s son engaged in a misguided attempt to protect his mother? Is a shadowy outsider still enraged over past injustices? And can Dare survive long enough to convince Glynna to take another chance on love?

What books by Mary Connealy have you read?

So now that you know what I’m reading this Wednesday, would you share with me what you are reading this Wednesday?

2 Comments

Filed under What I'm Reading

2 responses to ““What I’m Reading” Wednesday

  1. I’m so envious of all the books you are able to read!!!! I just don’t have the time for it at the moment. Thanks for all your recommendations 🙂 Looking forward to reading most of them.

    • I’m sorry you don’t have a lot of time to read right now. It is nice that I have time at both of my jobs when I can read and I have a lot of downtime at home too so I’m always stuck in a book!
      I’m glad I’ve been able to pass along some recommendations 🙂 I hope you’ll be able to get to them soon!

Leave a Reply

