“What I’m Reading” Wednesday

Good evening followers,

Welcome back to “What I’m Reading” Wednesday! If you’re new to this, this is where I post what book(s) I am currently reading. I give you a little description and tell you my impressions of the book so far. I also ask that you share with me in the comments what book(s) you are currently reading! So without further ado, here’s what I’m reading this Wednesday.

Well, I actually just finished reading Moonlight Masquerade by Ruth Axtell this afternoon. This is a book that I talked about in my post from last week. You can read that post here. I enjoyed this book very much and will be writing a review for it within the next couple weeks.

Since I’m not currently reading anything, let me tell you about a book I read over the weekend and the book I plan on reading next.

Over the weekend I read At Every Turn by Anne Mateer:

At Every Turn

by

Anne Mateer

This is Anne Mateer’s second book. I greatly enjoyed her first book, Wings of a Dream, so I was excited to get my hands on this book as well. I enjoyed it very much and thought it was a great book with a refreshing plot and an interesting historical setting.

Here is the description of this book via Goodreads:

Caught up in a whirlwind of religious enthusiasm, Alyce Benson impetuously pledges three thousand dollars to mission work in Africa. Now she just has to find a way to get the money.

Alyce harbors a secret passion for speed and automobiles, and she’s spent many an afternoon driving around the rustic track in the field behind her home. When she discovers that her father’s company has sponsored a racing car that will compete in several upcoming events–races in which the driver will be paid and could win as much as five thousand dollars in prize money–she conspires with her father’s mechanic, Webster, to train and compete.

But when her friends cast aspersions on Webster’s past, she realizes she may have trusted the wrong person with her secret. Will Alyce come up with the money in time, or will she have to choose between her hasty promise and the man who holds a piece of her heart?

I would suggest picking up either of Anne Mateer’s books if you haven’t already. I have enjoyed the historical content of both of them as they are both different than books that I’ve read in the past. Anne Mateer also has a book coming out this September called A Home for My Heart. I am looking forward to reading that book as well.

Have you read either of Anne Mateer’s books? If so, which one(s)?

The next book I am going to read is:

Love in Disguise

by

Carol Cox

I just read the book Trouble in Store by Carol Cox a couple weeks ago. I found it to be enjoyable enough that I wanted to read more of Carol Cox’s books so I picked this one up from the library. It sounds like an interesting read.

Here is the description via Goodreads:

Delightfully Engaging Blend of Romance, Suspense, History, and Humor When costume-maker Ellie Moore suddenly finds herself out of a job in the middle of a bleak Chicago winter, she uses her knowledge of theatrical disguise to secure a position as an undercover operative with the Pinkerton Detective Agency. Her assignment: find the culprit behind the theft of silver shipped from the mines near Pickford, Arizona. Disguised as Lavinia Stewart, a middle-aged widow, Ellie begins her investigation. Soon she finds she must also pose as the dazzling young Jessie Monroe, whose vivacious personality encourages people to talk. 

Mine owner Steven Pierce is about to lose his business after the theft of several bullion shipments–until hope arrives in the unlikely form of Lavinia Stewart, who offers to invest in Steven’s mine. In his wildest dreams, Steven never expected to be rescued by an inquisitive gray-haired widow . . . or to fall head over heels for Lavinia’s captivating niece, Jessie. But then the thieves come after both Lavinia and Jessie. Ellie isn’t safe no matter which character she plays! Will she be forced to reveal her true identity before the criminals are caught? What will Steven do when he discovers the woman he loves doesn’t exist?

What do you think? Sound like an interesting read? I am excited to start it!

Have you read any of Carol Cox’s books? If so, what ones have you read?

So now is the fun part of the day… It’s your turn to tell me what you’re reading! So tell me, what are you reading this Wednesday?

Also! I am currently giving away two copies of Daughter in Jerusalem by Joan Wolf. Don’t miss your chance to win! Click right here to go to my review post and enter the Rafflecopter giveaway!

1 Comment

Filed under What I'm Reading

One response to ““What I’m Reading” Wednesday

  1. Both seem like realling interesting books!!! I’ve been meaning to read them, so hopefully I will soon 🙂

Leave a Reply

