Daughter of Jerusalem Blog Tour Plus *Giveaway*!!!!

I have already posted a review of this book, but I was asked to participate in the Blog Tour for this book, so how could I resist??? This time, I am offering TWO copies of this book in a giveaway. So let me remind you what this book is about:

Daughter of Jerusalem

by

Joan Wolf

My Rating: 4 out of 5 Stars

Normally I do not read a lot of biblical fiction, but reading this book made me want to swallow up all the biblical fiction I could find. It was a wonderful read that made the biblical story of Mary Magdalene come to life. While all these events did not necessarily happen to the biblical Mary, this was a great fictional tale of the story of Mary.

The story opens when Mary is just 10 years old. After having problems at her own home, she is sent to live with her Aunt Leah at the home of Lord Benjamin. Mary must soon find her place in a household of 32 people. While she doesn’t make friends with the girls very quickly, Mary quickly becomes friends with Daniel. Just when they think their lives are going to go in a happy direction, things change.

When Mary is sold into a loveless marriage, she is terribly disappointed with her life. Feeling as if God has abandoned her, she finds love with another. Eventually, after a series of unfortunate events, she returns to Capernaum. There she meets Jesus and we see her learning to trust in him and rely on his strength and forgiveness.

I loved seeing the relationship between Jesus and Mary come to life. You can see that Mary greatly admired him and when she finally found a way to forgive herself, she was willing to work hard to follow Jesus and do what she could to help his ministry.

I enjoyed this book very much but as a warning to other readers, make sure you realize that this is a fictional account of Mary. It may have some of the facts straight, but a lot of this is fiction. If you want to know the real story of Mary, the Bible is where you’ll get the most accurate facts.

I received a free copy of this book from Worthy Publishing in exchange for an honest review and participation in the blog tour. I received no compensation for this review and was not required to write a positive review. All opinions stated are my own.

Check out the author’s website

Check out the author’s Facebook page

Buy the book from Amazon

Like my review on Amazon

Like my review on Goodreads

So what do you think? Does this sound like something you would be interested in reading?

Sign up now for one of two copies that I am giving away! Enter by next Tuesday for your chance to win. Two lucky winners will be picked next Wednesday and the winners will be posted that day.

Please click this link to get to the Raffecopter Giveaway:

a Rafflecopter giveaway

21 Comments

Filed under Book Review

21 responses to “Daughter of Jerusalem Blog Tour Plus *Giveaway*!!!!

  1. amyc

    I have been wanting to read this since I read This Scarlet Cord. Great book!

  2. I have been thinking about reading this. Thanks!

  3. Good morning,
    thank you for sharing your views on this novel. It book sounds like a wonderful story and I look forward to reading it.

    I’ve always enjoyed reading biblical stories, because even when part/most of the story is fictitious, it gives us an insight as to ‘what might have been’.

    If I may recommend another biblical fiction: The Centurion’s Wife, by Davis Bunn and Janette Oke. Fabulous story. These two amazing authors have co-written several biblical stories which I highly recommend.

    Again, thanks. 🙂

    Blessings, Renee-Ann

    • I have heard of The Centurion’s Wife but have been unable to read it so far. I will definitely look into reading it sometime! Janette Oke has always been a favorite author of mine 🙂
      – Leah

  4. Pingback: “What I’m Reading” Wednesday | Must Love Books

  5. Annette G

    Can’t wait to curl up on the couch and read!

  6. Judy B

    I can’t wait to read this book!

    Blessings!
    Judy B

  7. Charissa R

    This looks like a good book! Thanks for doing this giveaway…I would love to win one of these copies!

  8. Melba Worley

    I would love to read this book, and getting it free would be an extra bonus. I love books like these, and I have read a few by various authors. Thank you for this wonderful opportunity, and I will say congratulations now to those who win. Good luck everyone.

  9. Brenda Hurley

    I absolutely would love the chance to win this book to read ! I’ve read a few other fiction – Biblical stories: Noah and the Ark; Job; King David; and a few others (can’t remember the names right now) … and enjoyed them all thoroughly !!! Thanks for this opportunity.
    Take care, and, God Bless, In Him, Brenda Hurley
    brennie7@hotmail.com

  10. Debbie Mitchell

    Sounds very good. 🙂

  11. griperang

    Thank you for the chance to win this book. It looks like a nice one to read.

  12. Karen Carter

    I love Biblical fiction as it usually makes me think about the stories in a completely different way. Looking forward to reading this.

  13. Kristine Morgan

    I love Biblical fiction…this sounds like a good read.

  14. Jenny

    I enjoy reading Biblical fiction. This looks like a fascinating book. Thank you for sharing your review! 🙂

  15. I would love to read this title, thx for the giveaway!

  16. I would love to read this one, I need to read more biblical fiction. Thx for the giveaway.

  17. Ladette Kerr

    Sounds like a great book… I love “Biblical Fiction”.. it connects the dots. I have learned so much from other writers of Biblical fiction (Francine Rivers and Mesu Andrews). I look forward to checking this one out!

  18. Sounds like a good read. Every once and a while I read a Biblical novel.

  19. Pingback: [Book Review] Unrivaled by Siri Mitchell | Must Love Books

Leave a Reply

