Book Review: Stealing the Preacher

Stealing the Preacher

by

Karen Witemeyer

My Rating: 5 out of 5 Stars

Stealing the Preacher. At last I held a copy of this book in my hands! I’ve enjoyed each of Karen Witemeyer’s books and I waited for this one ever since I first heard it was coming out! I was quite surprised when I found out this was a “sequel” to Short Straw Bride. While it may be considered a sequel, there is no reason why you should have to read Short Straw Bride. One reading Stealing the Preacher will not have missed out on anything. But I still suggest reading Short Straw Bride at some point because that is a great book as well! So that being said, pick up one of Karen Witemeyer’s books today! You won’t be disappointed.

 

Stealing the Preacher brings us into the world of Joanna and Crockett. Crockett wants to become a preacher. Joanna is the daughter of an outlaw whose only wish is to have a preacher in her town; a preacher who can help her convert her father. When Crockett is on his way to interview for a preacher position, he ends up getting kidnapped – by Joanna’s father! Joanna begs Crockett to stay but he manages to escape. But instead he wonders if maybe that’s where God means for him to go. Crockett and Joanna must join forces to minister towards her father. But will Joanna’s father be able to see that he needs to rely on someone other than himself?

 

As with all of Ms. Witemeyer’s books, this one kept me turning from page to page to see what was going to happen next. It was full of laughter, fun, and romance. This was an enjoyable book in a wonderful setting with a plot line that kept me guessing. The characters were well developed and fun to get to know. I highly recommend reading this book because it’s definitely a great read.

 

I received a free copy of this book from Bethany House Publishers in exchange for my honest review. I did not receive any compensation for my review and I was not required to write a positive review. All opinions stated are my own.

Have you read any of Karen Witemeyer’s books? If so, what one is your favorite?

Buy this book on Amazon

Connect with the author:

Website

Blog

Facebook

Goodreads

Connect with Me:

Like this review on Amazon

Like this review on Goodreads

Like my blog on Facebook

Friend me on Goodreads

Follow me on Twitter

Follow me on Pinterest

6 Comments

Filed under 5-Stars, Book Review

6 responses to “Book Review: Stealing the Preacher

  1. I loved, Short-Straw Bride, and I’ve been wanting to read, Stealing the Preacher, and now I’m more eager than ever! Thanks for the great review and for letting me know it’s a sequel. Even thought some series can be read out of order, I like to read them in order to so I know all the stories of the characters that are mentioned. (Did that make sense?)
    Debbie

    • That makes total sense! I’m the same way. I’m definitely a stickler for reading things in order. I like to make sure I have all the back stories and stuff. I’m glad you liked my review. I’m sure you’ll love this book!
      – Leah

  2. Pam K.

    I think I’ve read all but one of Karen’s books (though I’d like to read that one as well). I liked them all but Short-Straw Bride and Stealing the Preacher are my favorites. I’m looking forward to Neill’s story that will be told in a novella, A Match Made in Texas, in January. There’s just something about those Archer men!

    • I think Short-Straw Bride and Stealing the Preacher are my favorites as well. I agree, those Archer men sure are great. I’m looking forward to that novella as well 🙂 I hope you get time to read the other Karen Witemeyer book soon! 🙂
      – Leah

  3. patty

    I’m in the middle of this book right now! Loving it as I have all of her books.

Leave a Reply

