Book Review: Reign

Reign: The Chronicles of Queen Jezebel

by

Ginger Garrett

My Rating: 4 out of 5 Stars

Reign is the story of Queen Jezebel. When I first heard that this book was about Jezebel, I wasn’t sure what to expect. Anything I’ve heard about Jezebel is that she was one of the “evil girls” of the Bible. However, Ginger Garrett does a great way of making Jezebel’s story come to life and I even found myself sympathizing with Jezebel at some points.

In Reign, we read the story of Jezebel through the eyes of Jezebel, her husband Ahab, and palace administrator, Obadiah. As a child, Jezebel is unloved, and things from her childhood leave her bitter when she reaches adulthood. Because of her bitterness, Jezebel is torn in trying to give everything in her worship to her gods, and desiring to reign over people and having them look to her. Jezebel is thirsty for revenge, but when Obadiah’s God challenges her, she finds there is no way to true victory.

 

I enjoyed this book very much and found myself breezing through it. The author did a great job of sticking to a lot of what the Bible says as well as adding her own fictional twist to the story. Even though Jezebel was considered an evil queen, I sympathized with her in this story because I wanted her to see how badly she needed God, rather than relying on her false gods and her own strength. As with any biblical fiction, I suggest reading the biblical story after reading this fictional account. That way it is easier to determine what in the story comes from the Bible, and what is fiction.

 

I received a free copy of this book from the publisher through bookfun.org in exchange for my honest opinion. All opinions stated are my own.

Buy this book on Amazon

Connect with the author:

Website

Blog

Twitter

Goodreads

Connect with me:

Like my blog on Facebook

Friend me on Goodreads

Follow me on Twitter

Follow me on Pinterest

Leave a comment

Filed under Book Review

Leave a Reply

