Book Review: Dandelions on the Wind

Dandelions on the Wind

by

Mona Hodgson

My Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Dandelions on the Wind is the first novella in Mona Hodgson’s series: Quilted Hearts. Normally I am not a big fan of novellas. I enjoy novels more because I feel like there can be so much more character development and depth to a story. That being said, while this book was not one of my all-time favorites, I was still able to enjoy the sweet story that was told.

 

The Civil War has just ended and Maren Jensen is working at Mrs. Brantenberg’s farm, helping with the farm chores and taking care of her granddaughter, Gabi. When Gabi’s father returns, after not having heard from him in several years, Maren realizes that now is the time to go back to Denmark. Having come to America as a mail-order bride, her groom decided he didn’t want her and while she has grown to love Mrs. Brantenberg and Gabi, she doesn’t want to impose forever.

However, Woolly, Gabi’s father, has come to enjoy the presence of Maren and he doesn’t want to see her return to Denmark.

 

Ms. Hodgson did a great job of creating an enjoyable story in this short novella. I liked the characters and overall setting of the book as well. I really like any story set during the civil war time period, whether pre-civil war, during the civil war, or post-civil war. I look forward to reading the other books in the Quilted Hearts series as well.

 

I received a free copy of this ebook from the publisher Waterbrook Multnomah through the program Blogging for Books in exchange for my honest review. All opinions stated are my own.

Buy the book on Amazon

Connect with the Author:

Website

Blog

Facebook

Twitter

Goodreads

Pinterest

Connect with me:

Like my blog on Facebook

Like this review on Goodreads

Like this review on Amazon

Friend me on Goodreads

Follow me on Twitter

Follow me on Pinterest

Leave a comment

Filed under Book Review

Leave a Reply

