Book Review: Desired

Desired: The Untold Story of Samson & Delilah

by

Ginger Garrett

My Rating: 4 out of 5 Stars

In the book Desired, we follow the life of Samson. The story of Samson is told through the viewpoint of three of the most important women in his life: His mother, Amara, and Delilah.

Samson’s mother loves him so much and all she wants is for him to be great. She pushes him to do what’s right and tries to drag him away from evil, but she is not able to control his every move. Samson’s mother must watch as Samson destroys his own life by constantly making bad decisions.

Amara is Samson’s Philistine bride. Afraid of this huge man, Amara wants nothing to do with him. But when she is handed over to him as his bride, she must make the most of it. However, Amara’s story ends in tragedy.

Delilah is the woman that most people associate with Samson. After several years of pain and tragedy in Delilah’s life, she meets Samson and proceeds to have an affair with him. However, the affair doesn’t last forever as Delilah eventually betrays him.

 

Many people know the Bible story of Samson and Delilah, but not a lot of people remember the part of Samson’s story before he met Delilah. While I had read the story before, reading this book reminded me of the Bible story. I thought the author did a great job of bring the biblical story to life and leaving a lot of the biblical facts in as well as adding her own fictional twist. While Samson and Delilah are not characters that I admire, they still have their own lessons to teach and I enjoyed learning through their stories.

 

I received a free copy of this book from the publisher through bookfun.org in exchange for my honest review. All opinions stated are my own.

 

Who is your favorite biblical character and what biblical fiction books do you like the best?

Buy the book on Amazon

Connect with the author:

Website

Blog

Twitter

Goodreads

Connect with me:

Like my blog on Facebook

Like this review on Goodreads

Like this review on Amazon

Friend me on Goodreads

Follow me on Twitter

Follow me on Pinterest

Leave a comment

Filed under Book Review

Leave a Reply

