Book Review: Bathsheba Bathed in Grace

I’m sorry for my lack of posts lately… I was finishing up my semester of college (yay, I’m graduated!) and then I went on a vacation to visit my best friend in Texas! However, I’ve got some great books that I’ve read and will be writing those reviews soon for you all to read and enjoy. For now, here’s my review for:

Bathsheba Bathed in Grace: How 8 Scandalous Women Changed the World

by

Carol Cook

My Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Bathsheba Bathed in Grace follows the story of 8 “scandalous” women of the Bible and shows how those women changed the world. Each of these women’s stories came to life for me and I could feel some of the emotions that these women felt. The women that this book talks about are Bathsheba, Sarah, Hagar, Rebekah, Leah, Rachel, Tamar, and Eve. I thought the author did a great job of sticking to the true stories. A lot of the stories made me feel like I was reading it straight from the Bible. However, since this is a fiction book, each story had a lot of fiction to it as well. It was interesting to read the different perspectives for both the Sarah-Hagar story and the Leah-Rachel story. I liked how we got an inside look from both sides.

Each of these women went through different circumstances and I enjoyed reading from their point of view and seeing the author’s take on how each woman may have reacted to their situations.

I really liked that the author included the references to where each woman’s story could be found in the Bible. I strongly recommend reading the Bible passages about each woman as well in order to see what parts of the stories come from the Bible and what parts were written in as fiction.

I really enjoyed the book and recommend it to anyone who enjoys biblical fiction. I especially recommend it to people who want to learn about some of the women who are not often written about (Hagar, Leah, Tamar, etc).

 

I received a free review ecopy of this book from the publisher through the BookSneeze Bloggers program in exchange for my honest opinion. All opinions stated are my own.

Watch this one minute video book trailer:

Check out the author’s Facebook page

Check out the author’s website

Check out the author’s blog

Buy the book on Amazon

Like my review on Amazon

Like my review on Goodreads

Like my blog on Facebook

 

Thanks for being patient as I readjust myself to blogging on a regular basis 🙂

Leave a comment

Filed under Book Review

Leave a Reply

