Book Review: Though My Heart is Torn

Though My Heart is Torn

by

Joanne Bischof

My Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I absolutely loved Be Still My Soul so I was excited to see where Gideon and Lonnie’s story went in Though My Heart is Torn. I knew it would involve heartache and pain, but I was ready for it. Or so I thought…

I loved seeing Gideon and Lonnie’s happiness in the beginning of the book. You can see that they came so far from when they were first married and it seemed a shame that anything had to change. But change it did!

When Gideon and Lonnie are called back home on urgent business, they return to find a girl named Cassie Allan who claims to be Gideon’s rightful wife.

Throughout the book we follow Gideon as he must come to grips with the mistakes he’s made in the past. We follow Lonnie as her heart breaks all over again, stunned by what Gideon reveals to her. Neither one of them has a choice when their lives veer in directions that neither one of them wants to take.

Gideon falls back into bitterness, his new faith wavering. Lonnie falls into the arms of God, looking for his strength to see her through and teach her how to cope with the situation.

 

This book will definitely tear at your heart. It is hard to see Gideon and Lonnie go through such a hard situation when you thought they’d finally found happiness. I found myself annoyed and angry with Cassie, but eventually I found myself slightly softening towards her. Jebediah and Elsie also play a role in this story, and I love how they treat Lonnie as their own daughter. Joanne Bischof does a wonderful job of bringing these characters to life. They find their way into your heart and they’ll stay with you long after you read the last page in the book.

 

This was a wonderful – though heart-wrenching – sequel to Be Still My Soul. I enjoyed it just as much as the first book and I am looking forward to reading the next installment in the series as soon as it comes out! Make sure you read Be Still My Soul before you read this one!

 

I received a free copy of this book from the publisher through Blogging for Books in exchange for an honest review.  All opinions stated are my own.

 

Check out the author’s website

Check out the author’s blog

Like the author’s Facebook page

Buy the book on Amazon

Like my review on Amazon

Like my review on Goodreads

Like my blog on Facebook

Normally I won’t be posting reviews quite so often. I like to keep on a regular posting base in order to keep on track of things but I’ve got a lot of reviews to get posted so I hope you enjoy the extra book suggestions!

1 Comment

Filed under 5-Stars, Book Review

One response to “Book Review: Though My Heart is Torn

  1. Sounds like a wonderful story! Hope to read it soon 🙂

Leave a Reply

