Book Review: Be Still My Soul

Be Still My Soul

by

Joanne Bischof

My Rating: 5 out of 5 stars!

I had seen Be Still My Soul and Though My Heart is Torn reviews on a few of my friend’s blogs. After their rave reviews, I knew I needed to check these books out myself. And wow, am I glad I did! Be Still My Soul exceeded my expectations and stole my heart! You’ll definitely want to add this to your to-read lists!

One night while Gideon was walking Lonnie home, he stole a kiss. When her father finds out, he immediately thinks Gideon has spoiled her reputation and forces them into a hasty marriage. After suffering an abusive father in her own home, Lonnie believes she is stuck in a marriage where she will never be happy.

Gideon and Lonnie are both not satisfied with the arrangement. Being bitter about the arrangement, Gideon gathers up all he owns and sets off with Lonnie to live away from their families. Gideon acts very immature at some points and it is obvious that he has a lot of growing up to do. But with the help of an elderly couple, Gideon and Lonnie both learn to accept the position they are in. Will their acceptance of their situation lead to love?

Throughout the book God is at work in both of their lives, willing them to rely on him above all else. My heart broke for Lonnie throughout the book. I felt the pain she was in and sympathized with her throughout each page. Even through all the pain that Lonnie was put through, she never wavered in her faith. She continued to look to God for strength and he granted her the strength she needed. Though this book is full of heartache and sadness, I am happy to say that the ending will leave you satisfied.

If you’re willing to have your heart strings pulled, I definitely recommend picking this book up. Be Still My Soul is a wonderful story about God’s promise that he will never leave us and that he is always there to help you overcome your hurt.

And the best part? Gideon and Lonnie’s story doesn’t end here. We find their continuing story in Though My Heart is Torn. I’ll review this book next week 🙂

I got this book from my library and was not required to write a review. All opinions stated are my own.

Check out the Author’s website

Check out the Author’s blog

Check out the Author’s Facebook page

Buy the book on Amazon

Like my review on Amazon

Like my review on Goodreads

Reminder!! I set up a Facebook page for this blog. Go “like” the page and my blog posts will be sent right to your News Feed! You won’t have to miss anymore posts from Must Love Books!

4 Comments

Filed under 5-Stars, Book Review

4 responses to “Book Review: Be Still My Soul

  1. Leah, I just love this sweet review of Be Still My Soul! What fun to see it this morning! I’m so glad you enjoyed Lonnie and Gid’s story and am doubly glad you’re looking forward to the next one! Hugs!

    • Thank you so much for stopping by! It was my pleasure reading the book 🙂 I just finished Though My Heart is Torn today and loved it as well! Now I’m anxiously awaiting the next book… Hugs to you as well!

  2. Debbie Mitchell

    Be Still My Soul is a wonderful book and Though My Heart Is Torn is just as great, if not more heart and soul tugging. Joanne is a great author and I can’t wait to read the rest of Gideon and Lonnie’s story. 🙂

    • Hey Chap! I actually found out about these books through you so thank you for sharing about them! I just finished Though My Heart is Torn today and yes, it was just as great! Definitely heart and soul tugging! I agree, Joanne is a wonderful author and I am definitely looking forward to the rest of Gideon and Lonnie’s story as well 🙂

Leave a Reply

