Book Review: The Icecutter’s Daughter

The Icecutter’s Daughter

by

Tracie Peterson

My Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Review:

Merrill Krause has been taking care of her Father and brothers ever since her Mother died ten years before. Living with a bunch of men has left Merrill lacking in some feminine areas but she’s not afraid of hard work and she works just as hard as her brothers in helping with the ice harvesting. Merrill has begun to feel lonely and she starts to wonder if this is the life she’s destined to or if she’ll ever have the chance to marry and have a family of her own. While she’s had a few suitors in the past, most of them have been intimidated by her brothers.

Rurik Jorgenson has come to Minnesota to help his ailing uncle with his furniture business. Leaving a broken engagement behind, he’s hoping to escape from a piece of his past and be a help to his uncle. When Rurik meets Merrill, he is intrigued from the start and he can’t help feeling drawn to her. Even her brothers can’t scare him away.

Yet when Rurik’s ex-fiancee finds him, he finds himself stuck in the middle of a brewing scandal. Merrill and Rurik must look to God to sort the mess out and ultimately they must learn to put their trust in Him.

I thought this book was really good and I enjoyed it from start to finish. I enjoyed it so much that I read it within 24 hours because I couldn’t put it down! I loved the relationship between Merrill and Rurik and how it grew. I liked how the characters were going through different struggles and I liked that we could see how they grew from those struggles. Overall, I liked the message of trust and how the characters needed to base their trust on God. I also enjoyed reading a little bit about how the ice harvesting works. While the book does not revolve around this process, the author does a good job of incorporating the history into the book. I am interested to see what the next books in the series will be like. I will definitely be reading them since I found this a great start to what I assume to be a great series.

I received a free copy of this book from Bethany House Publishers in exchange for my honest review. All opinions stated are my own.

Buy the book on Amazon

Buy the book from Barnes & Noble

Check out the Author’s website

Check out the Author’s blog

Like the Author’s Facebook page

Like my review on Amazon

Like my review on Goodreads

1 Comment

Filed under Book Review

One response to “Book Review: The Icecutter’s Daughter

  1. This looks like an interesting book. Thanks for your thoughts!

    BTW-I have 7 giveaways going on at my site if you want to stop over and take a look. Hope you have a great weekend!

    Diane :o)
    http://www.dianeestrella.com

Leave a Reply

