Book Review: All for a Song

All for a Song

by Allison Pittman

My rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Dorothy Lynn Dunbar is the daughter of the deceased preacher and is now engaged to the new young preacher, Brent. Dorothy sometimes has the feeling that she has been pushed into everything in her life. Several weeks before her wedding, she goes to visit her sister in St. Louis and gets caught up in the city life. When she meets Roland, a charming, attractive man who is working for Aimee McPherson, she allows him to convince her that she has bigger things in store for her singing and song-writing abilities. She joins their missions group that is heading to California, claiming to Brent and family that she is looking for her brother, Donny, who is supposedly out in California.

Set in the Roaring Twenties, Allison Pittman brought this decade to life as the words on the page became real to me. Perhaps some people liked this book but honestly it just wasn’t for me. I tried to like it, but the more I tried to force myself, the more things I didn’t like about it. A lot of what Dorothy did frustrated me. I also felt like we were supposed to sympathize with her at some points, but I just couldn’t because to me, she seemed rather selfish. I also really couldn’t like Roland. Maybe it was my love for the underdogs that made me feel bad for Brent, but I really felt like Roland was a womanizer and Dorothy just couldn’t say no to him. Dorothy tried to find herself by going out to California, but it seemed more like she lost herself. One thing I did like about the book was that there were a lot of cute, unique lines that stood out to me.

I hate to give a book a bad review, but I can’t like every book I read. Even though I was disappointed with this book, I still plan on giving this author another chance and reading some of her other books.

I received a free ecopy of this book from Tyndale House Publishers in exchange for a fair and honest review. All opinions stated are my own.

 

*Disclaimer* Normally I wouldn’t post a “bad” review but I’m obligated to post this since I received the free copy. Don’t let my bad review stop you from reading the book yourself. As I said before, I’m sure some people liked this book but it just wasn’t for me.

Author’s website

Author’s blog

Buy the book on Amazon

Like my review on Amazon

Like my review on Goodreads

Have you read any of Allison Pittman’s other books? If so, which ones would you recommend for me to read?

6 Comments

Filed under Book Review

6 responses to “Book Review: All for a Song

  1. Pam K.

    I really enjoyed this book, as I have the other two books I’ve read by Allison Pittman. I saw this as a young girl having her taste of freedom, making some mistakes along the way, but realizing even though she could possibly have fame and fortune, her real treasure (Brent) was waiting for her at home. Because she took a chance in experiencing the “outside world” she was content to go back home. She didn’t have to wonder what might have been. She was young, sometimes stupid, but in the end, Dorothy Lynn was wise to go back to the love she knew was stable and true.
    I’m not putting down your review. We don’t all have to like the same books. I just want to give your blog readers another viewpoint.

    • Thank you for sharing your viewpoint! I enjoyed seeing it from a different perspective. There were definitely things I liked about the book, it just wasn’t one of my favorites. But I do appreciate you giving my readers another view too so they can see that other people have enjoyed it 🙂

  2. Hi Leah!
    I liked your review a LOT! We all have ‘our’ opinions, and that is the BEST part about reading! We all like different things, etc., etc.! You ARE entitled to your own voice about the book. I would not apologize for writing a lower rated review at all. You are entitled to it, as we ALL are. You did GREAT!
    Congratulations on this being your NEW blog!
    I read about it on Goodreads! So I thought I would stop on over and check it out! Plus, to give you some support, as we ALL NEED when we first start out! I remember starting out, and wondered and wondered what people thought! I didn’t get to much feedback at first, and was really wondering!
    You did GREAT!
    I hope you continue on, and before you know it, it will be 3 years later, like me! I can’t BELIEVE how the time FLEW!!! Wow!!
    You can find me at http://www.lauriehere.blogspot.com ! HOPE you like it!
    Keep in touch!
    GREAT blog!
    Laurie

    • Laurie,
      Thank you so much for stopping by my blog but even more thanks for your encouraging words! It is always nice to get feedback and I really appreciate everything you’ve said 🙂 I am planning on continuing on! It doesn’t seem like people always read what I’m posting, but I will still continue and hope that my words and reviews will be helpful to others.
      Thanks for the link to your blog! I’ll be sure to add it to my reader list and check out all you’re posting 🙂
      Once again, thanks for stopping by!
      – Leah

  3. Hi Leah,
    Have you read Speak Through the Wind, The Bridegrooms, or Ten Thousand Charms? Those are my Allison Pittman favorites.
    Blessings, and Happy Reading!
    Mona

    • Hello Mona!
      All for a Song was my first book by Allison Pittman so I have not read those ones. I’ll look into reading them though! Thanks for the suggestions 🙂
      – Leah

Leave a Reply

