Forsaken Dreams by MaryLu Tyndall *BONUS: GIVEAWAY!!!!!*

Here is my review for Forsaken Dreams by MaryLu Tyndall.

My Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Forsaken Dreams is an amazing adventure full of trials, love, friendships, and storms. I was swept right into the story when we find the ship, New Hope, in the middle of a storm. We soon learn that this ship is full of Southerners who are on their way to Brazil to begin a new life after the Civil War ended. All of these Southerners are dreaming of a better life and hope to escape the pain of their pasts.

Blake was an officer for the South. He lost everything after the war so he put together a group of people to begin a new colony in Brazil where he hopes to build a new life.

Eliza is a war widow. She worked as a nurse during the war and she is trying to escape her past. Eliza’s deceased husband was a general for the North and she is rejected by both the North and the South, causing her to keep her past a secret from the rest of the passengers.

Most of the passengers are excited to embark on their journey and begin anew. However, they encounter many trials and hardships on the way, causing them to question whether this is what they really want to do. Different enemies try to keep them from their destination, whether those enemies be storms, Yankees, thieves or other kinds of weather.

With different secrets swirling around the ship, it’s hard to keep things hidden. When different passengers find their lives connected through the past, it’s even harder to keep the past in the past. Bitterness will rise as people become prejudiced against each other, and especially Eliza. If their colony is going to thrive, everyone must learn to overcome their bitterness and learn how to forgive.

I have read several of MaryLu Tyndall’s books and have greatly enjoyed each one. Forsaken Dreams was no exception. Each chapter left you with questions that you wanted answers to, so you kept reading, unwilling to put the book down! Just when you think you know what is going to happen or you think everything is going to be resolved, another twist enters the story, sending you on a new surprising path. I really enjoyed the historical part of the book and learning about Confederate soldiers who relocated to Brazil. I never knew about that until I heard about this book and it definitely makes for an interesting story! I thought MaryLu did a great job at capturing the bitterness of the South. I was shocked at how bitter and angry the Southerners could be in this book, but we can see that their lives have been turned upside-down and they are very upset about it. Overall, I thought this was a fantastic book. I was sad when it ended but I am happy to know that it is a part of a series and I have the next book to look forward to. I thought the book ended satisfying enough as it leads us into the next book but doesn’t leave us with a huge cliffhanger. As I said before, I loved this book very much and would recommend it to anyone who is looking for an adventuresome romance that will sweep them away!

Sound like something you’d like to read? Check it out on Amazon:

http://www.amazon.com/Forsaken-Dreams-Escape-Paradise-Tyndall/dp/1616265965

OR:

Sign up for this giveaway! I am offering a copy of Forsaken Dreams to the winner, absolutely FREE! All you have to do is sign up! If you can’t enter through Rafflecopter, be sure to add a comment and I’ll add you into the drawing!

Please note: This contest is only available to U.S. residents due to shipping costs.

Click through this link to get to the rafflecopter giveaway:

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Winner will be announced April 1st so be sure to check back soon!

19 Comments

Filed under Book Review

19 responses to “Forsaken Dreams by MaryLu Tyndall *BONUS: GIVEAWAY!!!!!*

  1. (FYI I don’t see the rafflecopter form).. Facebooked the post for you!

  2. I would like to enter! Not sure if I did, but I would love to read Marylu’s book. I can’t wait to read it! 🙂

    brpchristiangirl@charter.net

    Bianca

  3. Karen Fallot

    Thank you for the opportunity to win a copy of MaryLu’s newest book!

  4. Hannah

    Awesome! I can’t wait to read!!!

  5. Wow, this book sounds really good. I haven’t heard of this author, but sounds like something I should check out. Incidentally, the last name “Tyndall” is my mother-in-law’s maiden name 🙂

    Thanks for the giveaway!

    • Karen Fallot

      Lara, I’m a new fan of MaryLu’s–she ranks right up in my top 5 historical romance authors (and I have quite a few…) 🙂

  6. I would love to win this. My sister just read it and said it was really good.

  7. Trisha Robertson

    This book is on my list of books to read… Haven’t purchased it yet. However I am looking forward to reading it!

  8. Pam K.

    I’d love to win a copy of MaryLu’s new book, Forsaken Dreams. Thanks for giving one away.

  9. Sarah

    Sounds like a good book. Thanks for the giveaway.

    superstarsarah94(at)gmail(dot)com

  10. bonnie

    Have been following the reviews on this book & would love to win a copy! Thanks for the opportunity!
    bonnieroof60@yahoo.com

  11. amyc

    I love MaryLu’s writing!

  12. I love MaryLu’s Books!

    winterrose (at) comcast (dot) net

  13. Patty

    Would love to win a copy, the rafflecopter form worked for me! I am reading another of maryLu’s books right now…

  14. I can’t wait to read this book! I would love to win the copy of this book as well. I already know it’s going to be good. Mary lu Tyndall is my all time favorite author! I hope to meet her one day in person. I would totally freak out!!!! I love Marylu!!!!

  15. Melanie

    Thanks for the giveaway! Would love to win a copy of this book. 🙂

  16. Lisa E.

    I love Marylu’s books, they are amazing! Full of faith, adventure, and romance! I’d love to win. 😀

  17. Pingback: Love in the Balance | Must Love Books

Leave a Reply

