Thursday Thoughts: Khaki

My posting schedule has been a little off-kilter these past couple of weeks. I’ve been busy with finals for a couple of my classes and now I’m on Spring Break so I’ve been trying to stay productive. I like to think it’s working.. 😉

This week my thoughts are on my dog. We had to put her down this week due to her being very sick and unable to breathe which was the result of lung cancer. It was very hard and we all miss her very much. Saying goodbye to a beloved pet is never easy. I still expect to hear her barking outside my window or expect her to be waiting by the door when we come home. When I drop food on the ground, I almost call to her to eat it up for me but then remember she’s gone. I see food laying around and I’m about to move it so that the dog won’t get it, then remember.

It will be a hard adjustment to living without a dog. I’m 21 years old and every day of my life we’ve had a dog. While I will want a new dog eventually, the pain is still so fresh that it’s not something that I’m in a hurry to get.

I’ll be missing Khaki for a long time. I’ll miss her sitting in front of me while I’m eating food.

I’ll miss her stealing all my chocolates and not getting sick.

I’ll miss her barking at all her friends every night.

I’ll miss giving her high fives and hugging her.

I’ll miss having someone to spend my evenings with when everyone is gone.

I’ll miss sleeping with her when Mom is out of town.

I’ll miss giving her my leftovers or letting her lick my plate when I’m done.

I’ll miss her growling over her food.

I’ll miss seeing her be scared of the cat.

I’ll miss running around with her in the backyard and getting her riled up.

I’ll miss seeing her act like the queen of the world.

I’ll miss everything about that pretty dog.

I love you so much Khaki. I’ll miss you forever. I hope you’re having fun with Lacey and Kelso. Your family misses you baby ❤

1 Comment

Filed under Thursday Thoughts

One response to “Thursday Thoughts: Khaki

  1. Chaplain Debbie

    Oh, I know all too well what it feels like to lose a beloved pet. They are a part of the family and it truly does break your heart. Praying that you and your family will be able to move on and get another dog one day. Hugs.

Leave a Reply

