Thursday Thoughts: Books

Too many books, too little time.

That’s my thought this Thursday. My to-read pile keeps growing taller and my time to read keeps getting shorter.

I’m in the middle of finals for two of my classes. I take two 8-week classes at a time and these two classes will be done next Friday before getting a week off. (Yay Spring Break). I have papers to write, exams to take, quizzes to study for, and textbooks to read. How I wish I could use this time to be reading! But alas, I’m afraid school is taking the top priority for the next week.

I’m currently reading The Falcon and the Sparrow by MaryLu Tyndall whenever I have a free second but as soon as I’m on break I’ll be reading Forsaken Dreams by MaryLu Tydall. I’m so excited about that book! I have heard a lot of good things about the book 🙂 I wanted to start it as soon as I got it in the mail but since I am going to be reviewing the book, I knew it needed more attention than what I can give it right now.

Embedded image permalink

This picture is only half of my pile. I have about 10 more hidden in my nightstand and I got about 5 more in the mail today (courtesy of my boyfriend insisting on buying me a few books :]). I am so excited to read all of them but sometimes I wonder if I’ll ever find the time!

So what about you? How do you find time to read? Do you have a lot of books in your to-read pile? What books are on the top of your to-read list?

12 Comments

Filed under Thursday Thoughts

12 responses to “Thursday Thoughts: Books

  1. My to read pile has grown so much it stressed me out. I’ve tried to cut down on review requests but it’s still a big cloud over my head. I would love to read the hundreds of books I’ve collected over the years.

    • I have a few books from Netgalley that I’m needing to review as well so those aren’t even in my pile since they’re on the Kindle. I probably shouldn’t have requested so many when I’m so busy with school but I always make time to read so I’m sure I’ll get around to them soon enough 🙂 That’s so cool that you’ve collected so many books over the years. I love collecting books and while I’ve read a lot of them, there are so many I have yet to read and the ones I have read I would like to read again.

  2. Chaplain Debbie

    Hey Leah! Yep, I have my own pile of books to get through. Falcon and the Sparrow is one of Marylu’s best books, in my opinion. And Central Park Rendezvous is very good too. I am currently reading Forsaken Dreams and after that I will be reading Though My Heart Is Torn by Joanne Bischof…Praying your finals go well!

    • Hey Chap! It’s crazy how big a to-read pile can grow. Just when you feel like you’re making progress, a bunch more books get added to the pile! I’m definitely enjoying The Falcon and the Sparrow but I’m trying to hold out another week on Forsaken Dreams. I have heard of Joanne Bischof but haven’t read any of her books. I will have to look into them sometime 🙂 Thanks for the prayers!

  3. I have far too many books to read, and far too little time. I know the feeling! I have a list as big as yours only probably quite a bit larger. I’m trying to read as much as I can. Right now I am involved in a play that, coupled with school, gives me barely any reading time at all. Right now, at the top of my list, is Forsaken Dreams by MaryLu Tyndall.

    • Hey Heather! Yep, sounds like we’re in the same boat. Those to-read lists just never end! That is so cool that you’re in a play! I used to do plays when I was younger (before I realized I’m actually quite stage shy) but I know a lot of people who do plays now so I enjoy watching most theater productions 🙂

  4. Wow, I have so many books on my to read list… Lol! A huge pile (or piles, I should say, since if it was just one it would surely topple) and so many more on my wish list!! I read and loved Falcon and the Sparrow and Central Park Rendezvous 🙂 Eldest, At Every Turn and The Lightkeeper’s Daughter are all in my pile. And I’m about to start Forsaken Dreams. Just have 6 chapters left of A Bride in the Bargain by Deeanne Gist, which is also really good!!

    • Yep, this picture really is only one pile. I have a few more piles plus this pile has grown since I took the picture! My to-read list on Goodreads is very long.. I don’t own all the books though so that’s probably a good thing or I’d have a whole room full of books needing to be read! I’ve actually read Eldest before but I just reread Eragon and am rereading Eldest now because I haven’t read Brisingr or Inheritance yet and since it’s been years since I read the first two, I knew I needed some refreshing of my memory. Ooh I have really liked most of Deeanne Gist’s books and I know I really liked A Bride in the Bargain 🙂

      • Yeah, I read Eragon years ago, around when Eldest came out, and I have Eldest and Brisingr but haven’t gotten to read them yet. Don’t even have the last one… They are big books haha!

      • I don’t have the last one either.. haha. They are very big books! They definitely take a while to read.

  5. I know!! I wish time would just stop so I would be able to read all of my books!!!

Leave a Reply

