Thursday Thoughts: Downton Abbey

I decided to step away from my usual posts about books and talk about one of my favorite television shows. After all, it’s “Thursday Thoughts” day, and my thoughts aren’t always about books ๐Ÿ™‚ So, as the title says, this post is about my love for Downton Abbey. Don’t worry, I won’t post any spoilers for those of you still watching the show ๐Ÿ™‚

So what is Downton Abbey? Downton Abbey is a British drama about a family and their servants who live/work at the (fictional) Yorkshire country estate of Downton Abbey. The show follows the lives of the Crawley’s (Robert & Cora and their three daughters, Mary, Edith, and Sybil) and all their servants. There’s so many characters that you’ll just have to watch the show to see who they all are and find out more about them ๐Ÿ™‚ But, I will post a little bit about some of my favorite characters.

My most favorite character in the show is Lady Sybil Crawley:

Lady Sybil Crawley

I love Sybil because she’s so nice to everyone and wants to help others. She isn’t afraid of getting close to the servants and even helps one of the housemaids find a job outside of service. Despite the fact that Mary and Edith have a sister rivalry, Sybil doesn’t take part in it and she tries to make peace between the two of them. Of course, Sybil is not perfect, and you will see some of her faults, but I still think she is a lovely character. Not only does Sybil have a wonderful personality, I think she is quite gorgeous! So here’s another picture of Lady Sybil:

Another one of my favorite characters is:

William Mason

William Mason is a footman at Downton Abbey. Despite being treated badly by the other footman, Thomas, William still does his best to do his job. I love William because he’s nice to everyone and doesn’t expect a lot from people.

Another character:

Anna Smith

Anna is the Head Housemaid at Downton Abbey.ย She is such a lovable character.ย Anna is loved by the servants downstairs and the family upstairs. ย One thing I love about Anna is that she’s not afraid of standing up to the mean servants.

Daisy Robinson

Daisy Robinson is the kitchen maid at Downton Abbey. Daisy is pretty innocent and naive and sometimes you just want to shake her for being so dumb. She allows people to push her around a lot and doesn’t often stand up for herself. I love seeing her grow up over the series and seeing her grow as a person. Despite being rather simple-minded, Daisy is very humble and generous.

Tom Branson

Tom Branson is theย chauffeur for Downton Abbey. He’s from Ireland and he’s really into politics. He dreams of a better life for himself and isn’t afraid to run after what he wants.

I have several other characters that I like but these people are probably the top 5. Apparently I like a lot of the characters downstairs.

What about you. Do you watch Downton Abbey? If so, what is your favorite part about the show? Who are some of your favorite characters, upstairs and downstairs? Why are those characters your favorites?

Thanks for stopping by and reading my Thursday Thoughts! I do appreciate it more than you know ๐Ÿ™‚

8 Comments

Filed under Thursday Thoughts

8 responses to “Thursday Thoughts: Downton Abbey

  1. Jan

    Thanks for getting me hooked on the show too.

  2. I just started watching this last week! I’m halfway through season 2. I LOVE IT! ๐Ÿ˜€ My favorites are Anna, Mr. Bates, Branson, William, Matthew, Sybil, Mrs. Hughes, Edith, Daisy, and I really liked Gwen. (Those aren’t in any order, by the way. Other than I would say Anna is my favorite.)

    • It’s so fun finding other people who love Downton Abbey! It looks like we have a lot of the same favorite characters ๐Ÿ™‚ I really like Anna. She is such a darling.

  3. I just finished Season 3! Now I have to wait on Season 4…. ARGH!
    I am a fan of Mr. Bates and Anna. I’ve enjoyed them from the beginning. I think the Dowager Countess has been given all the amusing lines and I enjoy her too!

Leave a Reply

